Cherwell District Council

Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 10 April 2014 at 6.30 pm

Present: Councillor Lawrie Stratford (Chairman)

Councillor Kieron Mallon (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Ken Atack
Councillor Andrew Beere
Councillor Maurice Billington
Councillor Fred Blackwell
Councillor Norman Bolster
Councillor Ann Bonner
Councillor Mark Cherry
Councillor Colin Clarke
Councillor Surinder Dhesi
Councillor John Donaldson
Councillor Diana Edwards
Councillor Tim Emptage
Councillor Andrew Fulljames
Councillor Michael Gibbard

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE Councillor Alastair Milne Home

Councillor Chris Heath Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Melanie Magee Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor P A O'Sullivan

Councillor Lynn Pratt Councillor Neil Prestidge Councillor Nigel Randall

Councillor G A Reynolds

Councillor Alaric Rose

Councillor Gordon Ross

Councillor Daniel Sames

Councillor Les Sibley

Councillor Trevor Stevens

Councillor Rose Stratford

Councillor Lynda Thirzie Smart

Councillor Nicholas Turner

Councillor Douglas Webb

Councillor Douglas Williamson

Councillor Barry Wood Councillor Sean Woodcock Apologies Councillor Alyas Ahmed
for Councillor Margaret Cullip
absence: Councillor Simon Holland
Councillor David Hughes

Councillor Ray Jelf Councillor Jon O'Neill Councillor D M Pickford

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive

Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer Adrian Colwell, Head of Strategic Planning and the Economy Natasha Clark, Team Leader, Democratic and Elections

78 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

79 **Communications**

Former District Councillor Charles Shouler

The Chairman reported the sad news that former District Councillor Charles Shouler had recently passed away. Councillor Shouler was first elected to Ploughley Rural District Council in 1973, which later formed part of Cherwell District Council. He remained a Cherwell Councillor until 1987, serving as Leader between 1983 and 1987.

Council observed a period of silence in memory of former Councillor Shouler.

Councillors Wood, Woodcock, Dhesi, Blackwell and Mallon paid tribute to former Councillor Shouler.

Chairman's Dinner

The Chairman reminded members that the Chairman's dinner would be taking place on Saturday 12 April. All tickets for the event had been sold.

Members' Post

The Chairman reminded Members to collect any post from pigeon holes.

80 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

81 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

Petitioning and Opposing the Hybrid Bill on High Speed 2 (HS2)

The Head of Strategic Planning and the Economy submitted a report for Council to adopt a resolution opposing the Hybrid Bill on High Speed 2 (HS2).

In response to Members' comments, the Lead Member for Planning confirmed that the motion was about mitigation rather than opposition. It was further confirmed that the remaining HS2 reserve (£14,000) would be adequate to fund the task and a cap would be set on the cost of the Petitioning process.

Resolved

- (1) That the follow potential petitioning matters as recommended by Executive be agreed:
 - 1. Noise standards
 - 2. Visual impact and intrusion
 - 3. Local design standards
 - 4. Construction issues
 - 5. Height of line
- (2) That, Council considering it expedient to do so, agreement be given to resolve to oppose the Hybrid Bill on HS2 pursuant to section 239 of the Local Government Act 1972 as a necessary pre-requisite to formal petitioning

(Voting For: 37; Voting Against: 5; Abstentions: 0)

83 Ratification of Appointment of Deputy Electoral Registration Officer

The Electoral Registration Officer submitted a report which sought to ratify the appointment of Deputy Electoral Registration Officer.

Resolved

(1) That the appointment of James Doble as Deputy Electoral Registration Officer be ratified.

The meeting ended	at 7.30 pm
	Chairman:
	Date: